1. American Craft Beer Fest returns to Boston on May 29 & 30, featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers. Tickets are on sale now.

Absolute noob here

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by TomFoolery_x, Dec 17, 2012.

1. Alright guys, I've been wanting to try homebrewing for the longest time. I always see different starter kits that claim to be "the best" or "the only homebrew kit you'll ever need" but to be honest, idk what I'm looking for.

So basically, I'm wondering what kit anyone here has used and enjoyed using. Preferably I'd like to get the most comprehensive kit so I won't have to buy additional things down the road. I know some things will have to be bought separately no matter what, but looking to minimize that.

Also, should I buy the premade kits for brewing certain styles or do you guys suggest I buy the malts, hops, yeasts, etc seperately? I'd prefer to brew an ipa/pale ale for my first brew so any help along those lines would be greatly appreciated.

In addition to everything listed above, are there any books or any good literature on homebrewing you guys would suggest?

Thanks for any help and input you can provide!

Cheers!
    Tom

2. scurvy311

scurvy311 Savant (415) Louisiana Dec 3, 2005

There is literally a post called "What would be in your essential homebrewer's library?" AND a post called "First Homebrew" on the same page that you posted on. These two posts answer many of your questions.

When you are ready, if you are thinking online, any of the kits from Northern Brewer, William's Brewing, or More Beer (among others) would be great kits to start with.

Also use the search box with key words. There is a lot of good information already on the forum.

jmw, VonZipper and exitmusic00 like this.
  3. I was gonna try searching, but I've had too many beers. I'll have to look into it tomorrow. Thanks though!

4. exitmusic00

exitmusic00 Savant (275) Oregon Mar 15, 2010

5. AlCaponeJunior

AlCaponeJunior Champion (800) Texas May 21, 2010