Aging RR Consecration?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by troughnbrew, Jan 16, 2013.

1. troughnbrew

troughnbrew Zealot (90) Maine Feb 28, 2010

Any advice on what amount of aging is/is not appropriate for stronger sours? I've been keeping Consecration for about two years (the last 750 ML bottling, whenever that was, probably late 2010). Thanks for your thoughts.

2. evilc

evilc Initiate (0) California Jan 27, 2012

Vinne says 3 years right on the bottle for that beer.

3. stealth

stealth Advocate (580) Minnesota Dec 16, 2011

Older = better, imho. I've had consecration past the '3 year' limit and it was extraordinary.

4. jtmartino

jtmartino Savant (480) California Dec 11, 2010

That's one beer that keeps getting better and better. So damn underrated around here (Bay Area) with everyone trying to get sours from everywhere else.

cfh64 and afrokaze like this.
  5. My personal experience with Consecration is that age doesn't necessarily make it better or worse, just different. I love that beer fresh, so maybe I'm not the best person to ask, but aging it just mellows the flavors a bit. The older bottles I've opened weren't as acidic or tannic as fresh bottles.

6. forgetfu

forgetfu Savant (280) Colorado Jul 27, 2007

I'm definitely a fresh consecration fan. Fresh, it's one of my favorite beers. With age, it's not my thing.

Knownfactor likes this.
  7. drgarage

drgarage Initiate (0) California Aug 19, 2008

Last year, we had a batch 1 750 (it was three years old at that point). Very different from fresh. Really intensely sour, crazy dry, thin body, and the carbonation had faded considerably. Still great, but not necessarily better than fresh. It would be your taste buds deciding which you prefer.

FeDUBBELFIST likes this.
  8. I had a batch 2 a few months ago that tasted pretty damn good.