1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Bars not pouring a head/etiquette

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by agapeagape, Jan 11, 2013.

1. agapeagape

agapeagape Aspirant (45) Alaska Aug 24, 2012

A local bar (two actually) near me pour heads randomly, and seemingly less often on stronger beers. I'm a novice, so the question is twofold:

-Are heads harder to pour/necessary from draught?
    -How to approach the bartender?

Oddly enough both of these places have respectable beer lists but the servers are clueless.
  2. Hanzo

Hanzo Champion (955) Virginia Feb 27, 2012

I hate it when bartenders won't make with the head. It's like you are paying them to provide a service, and you should get the best experience possible.
  3. Stronger beers often have thinner heads due to the alcohol content
    Kopfschuss and Squidly like this.
  4. Try this approach: Throw the beer in the bartender's face. Then say, "Hey, I don't see any head on your face?"

Report back with results;)
  5. Hell, from my perspective it's become an epidemic of short foamy pours at supposed "elite" beer bars nowadays. I'll take a stadium pour for what draft beer costs nowadays. Fill it up please.
  6. fredmugs

fredmugs Champion (820) Indiana Aug 11, 2012

IN YOUR FACE BITCH! LMAO
    Blueribbon666 and paulys55 like this.
  7. dap325

dap325 Aficionado (190) New York Apr 2, 2009

Got a glass of Goose Island BCS filled to the brim last week. Not complaining. I like a good head on a beer as long as that space isn't taking away from what the menu says I'm paying for.
  8. Bluecane

Bluecane Initiate (0) New York Dec 30, 2011

I'm not sure if I or my snifter of Siberian Night (or both) find this funny, but I lol'd nevertheless!
    paulys55 likes this.
  9. most bartenders are pretty oblivious to the whole concept....people that pour guinness are the worst offenders