1. American Craft Beer Fest is this weekend in Boston, Mass. Join us for 640+ beers from 140+ brewers! Tickets for Friday, May 29 are still available. Cheers!

Beer and fitness

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Ant7780, May 3, 2013.

1. Ant7780

Ant7780 Aficionado (245) Michigan Dec 2, 2012

I'm wondering, are there any beer advocates out there who are real in to fitness? Even though they seem contradictory, it always seems like marathon runners and crossfitters are beer drinkers (the Spartan race has a local brewery serve beers to finishers at all their different races across the country, same with other obstacle course races).

I have been into martial arts, crossfit, Spartan Races, and short distance running for a while now. I try to moderate my beer consumptions to weekend only (not always successful). I’m not a professional athlete and I don’t need a perfect body. I like to stay strong and healthy and challenge myself with serious workouts, but I also love craft beer; it seems to work well enough. Also I’m 32 so I can’t eat/drink whatever I want all the time like I could a few years ago.

So my questions are this: How much do you work out/what kind of workouts do you do? Do you drink beer after a workout? Not on days when you work out? What is your beer/fitness philosophy?

EricTKole and sind310 like this.
  2. pitweasel

pitweasel Advocate (550) New York Jun 11, 2007

I have a physically demanding job, and also run/bike/go to the gym regularly. Not to any sort of extremes, but just so I don't get out of shape.

In terms of beer...I don't think it changes anything for me. A cold pilsner after a long bike ride or a good run is delicious, but I won't drink any more - or less - because of a workout. I still only have one (12oz) bottle or can of something on any given day because it's generally all I'm in the mood for.

If there's any correlation between fitness and beer for me, it's that the exercise is probably helping to prevent a beer gut from forming.