1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Beer Snob Rookie

Discussion in 'US - Great Lakes' started by Christopher281, Apr 7, 2013.

1. Christopher281

Christopher281 Initiate (15) Apr 7, 2013

I'm new to this beer snob thing, although I can't believe I spent my whole adult life thinking Budweiser was what beer was supposed to taste like, and that Sam Adams was as good as it got.

So I started with Bell's Oberon, and cycled through a few other Bell's products before settling on Amber Ale. I like Two Hearted, but it's a little too sweet for me. What I'd appreciate some help with is a recommendation, given my tastes so far, on what to try next. I prefer to stay with Michigan brewers (for the same reason I buy my cars from the big three).

Let me know...and thanks
  2. First, we're not beer snobs, so think of yourself as something different than that. "Geek" is an okay term, but "beer lover" is better. :)

To answer your question, just keep trying different beers. Just because you felt Bell's Two Hearted is too sweet does not mean that all IPAs are sweet. (I really can't recall anyone ever using "sweet" to describe the taste of that beer, but maybe there is something lost in the translation.) I really have a feeling that you'll tell us next year that you like that beer. Training and conditioning your palate to recognize the nuances between the same styles from different breweries is what you're attempting to do right now. It will come.

Trying different beers via sampler packs or mix-a-six packs at your local bottle shop is a good way to find your favorite styles and beers. Also, go to breweries and try different beers by ordering their sampler. If a brewery does not offer a sampler then ask for a sample of a beer before you order a pint.
    dachshunddude86 and MADhombrewer like this.
  3. sbxx

sbxx Savant (465) Illinois Mar 21, 2011

sigh