1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Belgian wit question/help

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by atomeyes, Jan 18, 2013.

1. atomeyes

atomeyes Member

heya,
    just working on a recipe for a beer i've been dreaming up for a few months.
    looking at making a belgian wit beer racked on soursop (guanabana) and, possibly, with lactose.

the recipe i'm playing around with:

1 lb flaked oats
    1.5 lbs acid malt
    2 lbs vienna malt
    5 lbs wheat malt
    6 lbs pilsner

should i mash in at around 133 F, let it rest for 15 min, then take it up to 150 F? or could i just start at 150 F?

and any comments about the grains i'm using would be great.
  2. Travisurfin247

Travisurfin247 Member

I've never mashed wheat before, but I've read that a protein rest should be done. From howtobrew.com:
  3. scurvy311

scurvy311 Member

You could go either way I guess. Wits are already cloudy. I doubt you would notice either way if it was a classic wit.
  4. atomeyes

atomeyes Member

yeah, that's the thing. cloud wouldn't matter, would it?
  5. barfdiggs

barfdiggs Member

Why the wheat malt? Wits are cloudy from the use of unmalted wheat/torrified wheat. Most wits are pils, raw/unmalted wheat and if you want to get a slicer mouthfeel and more haze, oats.

Lactose in a wit sounds really gross. You get more than enough body from the unmalted wheat, and wits should finish dry to keep them drinkable, especially with some of the fruitness you're going to pick up from the fruit additions.
  6. atomeyes

atomeyes Member

obviously, i'd try the beer before adding lactose. the idea is to have a soursop "milkshake" but in beer form.
  7. HerbMeowing

HerbMeowing Member

---
    What do want it to taste like?
    <./channelling HB42>
  8. atomeyes

atomeyes Member