1. Rating beers by attributes (look, smell, taste, feel, overall) is back! Read the latest update ...
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Best Belgian Strong Dark Ale?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Preluderl, Jan 17, 2013.

1. Preluderl

Preluderl Savant (340) Pennsylvania Sep 27, 2012

Let me preface this by saying I have very little experience with Belgians. I love Troegs Mad Elf and while I realize it's a bit unique, I was curious about some opinions on other good bets in this style?

I see Chimay Blue ranks pretty highly and I know that's pretty easy to get your hands on. What else would the masses recommend that's not too hard to obtain?

2. mklisz

mklisz Advocate (595) New Hampshire Dec 31, 2010

Gulden Draak and Trois Pistoles are always nice and easily obtainable.

phooky likes this.
  3. Prospero

Prospero Advocate (655) Colorado Jul 27, 2010

Rochefort 8, Unibroue Trois Pistoles, Gulden Draak just to name a few. Thought Grande Reserve 17 was awesome too, as is Maudite & La Terrible. If you get Allagash, Odyssey & Black are good.

alexipa likes this.
  4. Try the Stift Engelszell Gregorius. I just had it on tap it was really good.

5. Unibroue's got 4 Belgian Strong Dark Ale's to try ,
    'La Terrible' & 'Grand Reserve17' both are a bit rare & $$ ,
    'Trois Pistoles' & 'Maudite' both are more common & only $

Squidly likes this.
  6. Prospero

Prospero Advocate (655) Colorado Jul 27, 2010

Oh and RR's Salvation when it's released.

7. Bluecane

Bluecane Initiate (0) New York Dec 30, 2011

These categories are unclear sometimes. Nevertheless, I LOVE Struise Pannepot.

MarcatGSB likes this.
  8. I have no idea what difference, if any, exists between a Dubbel a BSDA or a Quad for that matter.

So my answer is Chimay (red label).

denver10 likes this.
  9. draheim

draheim Poobah (1,035) Washington Sep 18, 2010