1. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Brew in a bag

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Eriktheipaman, Sep 28, 2012.

1. Eriktheipaman

Eriktheipaman Member

Brewing up my first Brew in a Bag and have a few questions. I am doing a small batch (maybe 1.5 gallons) and my concern is how much water the grains will soak up. It is too easy to under or over shoot gravities with such a small batch size. Any input would be great.

Also it will be a Rye IPA. It is my first time working with Rye and I'm wondering how everyone thinks the grain bill looks.

LB OZ
    73% 3 0 Rahr Pale Ale
    12% 0 8 Rahr Two-Row
    12% 0 8 Flaked Rye
    3% 0 2 Caramel/Crystal Malt - 20L
  2. VikeMan

VikeMan Member

I don't do BIAB, so can't help much there. Grain/water absorption varies from system to system. IIRC, mine's about 0.12 gallons per pound, but I don't have my spreadsheets here.

Have to ask though... why both pale ale malt and plain 2-row malt?
  3. Eriktheipaman

Eriktheipaman Member

I just have both lying around. I wanted to use each in separate beers to see if I could pic up any difference. And I assume you mean .12 gallons per pound?
  4. VikeMan

VikeMan Member

Yep. Just fixed that a moment ago.
  5. Eriktheipaman

Eriktheipaman Member

Ah ok. So I could be looking at loosing as much as half a gallon? That's kinda what I figured but I'll try to play it safe. Any input on brewing with Rye?
  6. VikeMan

VikeMan Member

Add some rice hulls. Rye can be very sticky. Though I'm not sure how critical that is with BIAB. (Just don't know.)

Also, that's a pretty subtantial amout of rye, but not crazy.
    Eriktheipaman likes this.
  7. theCoder

theCoder Member

8. OSUBeerStudent

OSUBeerStudent Member