1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Breweries that have exceeded your expectations

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by LCB_Hostage, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Someone recently started a really cool thread about breweries that just haven't managed to impress you despite having a good reputation. I thought it might be fun to look at the question from the other direction now. So, what breweries make beer you weren't that excited to try at first, but now you're glad you did?

First on my list has to be Victory. As a SE Pennsylvania resident I just always took them for granted. Their beer was everywhere and it was always priced so reasonably that I figured it had to be sorta second tier. But I can honestly say, I've never had a Victory product that wasn't good to great, and I've tried a lot. The do everything well, and I can't figure out how they can keep their prices so low and still make money.

Second would probably be Troegs, for many of the same reasons listed above. Plus, I've come to really appreciate their willingness to bring some west coast hopmania home to PA.

So, what brewers brought an unexpected grin to your face.

jjchristiano likes this.
  2. In before HF HT 3F blah blah blah

TheMonkfish likes this.
  3. Alpine Beer Company hands down. The brewery is about the size of apartment and you can drive by about a hundred times and never notice it. No fuss, just great beer. The best IPA's in the world are born in that little shack.

BrianTheBrewer30 likes this.
  4. Oskar Blues has those funky looking cans that kinda put me off but I tried their beers and I really liked them.

Blueribbon666 likes this.
  5. Nectar

Nectar Savant (310) New Jersey Jan 17, 2013

Uinta- specifically their crooked line series. Labyrinth is just great.

Kmccabe33, haruspexvic and afrokaze like this.