1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Breweries with most no. of beers reviewed on BA vs Sales Volume Rank

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by AmitC, Jan 2, 2013.

1. AmitC

AmitC Savant (495) New York Sep 21, 2012

The thought just came into my mind as i came across this list of largest craft breweries in USA by sales volume. The list surprised me a lot. There were a lot of names (on top) that i have not had anything from yet (I am a beginner, novice what you want to call me). I then decided to see how popular a brewery's beers really are in the craft world (one measure is the beers reviewed - it is flawed but it does provide a lot of food for thought). A lot of surprises here as well. I knew, though, that Dogfish Head will be somewhere on top - and it come right at number 1. Phenomenal stuff Sam. Even when i had not heard this word called 'Craft Beer' i did hear these names Dogfish Head, 60 Minute, 120 minute etc.

Got the list from here (I am not sure how authentic this is - but i found this on Stone's wikipedia listing):

http://www.brewersassociation.org/p...ociation-releases-2010-top-50-breweries-lists

Please (BA veterans) let me know your thoughts on the list and how do you experienced BAs see the data. Include some breweries that are not in the original top 50 sales volume list 2010. I have included few that are a surprise exclusion to me - Founders, FFF etc.

For a better view of data:

https://docs.google.com/open?id=0B9mwxAdTmjfSRkV6LTliMkdXSzA

Sales Volume Rank (2010) Brewing Company City State BA Total Beer Reviews BA Review Volume Rank (As of 1/1/2013)
    1 Boston Beer Co. Boston MA 32,767 1
    11 Dogfish Head Craft Brewery Milton DE 32,767 2
    2 Sierra Nevada Brewing Co. Chico CA 27,437 3
    14 Stone Brewing Co. Escondido CA 26,218 4
    8 Bell's Brewery, Inc. Galesburg MI 23,916 5
    25 Rogue Ales Newport OR 22,751 6