1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Brewing over multiple days

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by SaintBenedict, Apr 3, 2012.

1. As I learn more about home brewing, I wonder how crucial it is to see the entire pre-fermentation brewing process through in one day. Not that I have any plans to do this, but I am curious if anyone has done the mash and the boil on separate days—by necessity or by design. Considering that the wort will ultimately be boiled, I figured that contamination would not be an issue.

Disclaimer: I'm new to home brewing, so please keep that in mind as you consider my rather naive question. :)
  2. If you let a mash sit out for an extended period of time there is a good chance you will begin to have a lot of lacto growth and will produce a tart or sour beer depending on the length of time you let the lacto grow. This method can be used in berliner weisse beers and is called a sour mash. While boiling will kill the lacto, the damage is done and the beer will more than likely have that tart twang to it.
  3. I just brewed a berliner weisse for the first time. It was nice to get to spread out some of the work, and it's one of my favorite styles. I mashed and sparged normally an let the wort sit for a couple days to sour up. Just added some raw grain in a mesh bag and let the lacto do its thing. 3 days later I took the bag out and started the process as usual from the boil. Also a nice 15min boil to boot. Probably the least stressful, for lack of a better word, brew I've made yet. Hopefully it comes out good.
  4. jbakajust1

jbakajust1 Moderator (475) Oregon Aug 25, 2009 Staff Member