1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Calculating ABV

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by tngolfer, Mar 12, 2012.

1. tngolfer

tngolfer Aficionado (200) Tennessee Feb 16, 2012

I'm still learning the basics through extract kits and wanted to experiment a little. I wanted to try eliminating the secondary this time and I ended up coming up short on volume. I racked from my brew pot to keep a lot of the trub out of the primary so I had a little loss of volume there but my OG was in my expected range (1.052). I didn't rack to secondary so no loss there. The batch I just bottled this weekend yielded 46 bottles instead of the 51-53 I was expecting. It works out to 4.65 gallons or something with a FG of 1.020. My OG was in the primary for 13 days. I assume the 131.25 in the (OG-FG)x131.25 equation is based on a volume of 5 gallons.

Q1: Is there a way to adjust the multiplier to give me the correct ABV for my smaller batch?

Q2: Did I not enough yeast to get me to my expected FG of 1.012? (Krausen was good but it was done off-gassing by day 6.) The kit came with dehydrated yeast so it could have easily been poor preparation.

Q3: Does racking to the secondary agitate everything just enough to liven the yeast up again?

2. dublthink

dublthink Initiate (0) Feb 22, 2012

3. billandsuz

billandsuz Savant (390) New York Sep 1, 2004

OG, FG and the ABV calulation are not dependent on the volume of beer being brewed. if you have a target, and you used more or less fermentables than planned, then your readings will differ from the estimated target.
    but it does not matter, as you would take a post boil OG, and then your post ferment FG. calculate ABV.