1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Coffee Porter?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by MP72, Jan 17, 2013.

1. MP72

MP72 Aficionado (240) Pennsylvania Sep 25, 2006

Since I started brewing about a year ago I have been pretty experimental with recipes and kits and most have worked great. However I am interested in doing a coffee porter after having good luck with my vanilla porter. The problem is my research has come up with so many ways to add the coffee ie. cold steeped, grounds in a hop sack in the boil , and also as a dry hop in the secondary while others just pour cooled fresh brewed joe into the bottling bucket. What do most of you guys do to help me narrow this down.

Thanks in advance for all suggestions
  2. inchrisin

inchrisin Savant (435) Indiana Sep 25, 2008

I think most of us will tell you that we cold steep and add to the end of the boil. If it's your first time, I recommend a cold steep, a taste, a boil, a cooling of the coffee and adding it into your fermenter after you hit FG. This will help you repeat your process if you're too weak or strong on the coffee flavor.
    wspscott and MP72 like this.
  3. MP72

I guess I will try a few approaches since there seems to be no definitive ideas.
    Thanks
  4. I like to live on the edge and throw whole coffee beans into primary after fermentation is complete, similar to how I dry hop. The pros (or at least Terrapin) do it this way with good results.
    MP72, OldSock and ColForbinBC like this.