1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Contact time for American oak chips?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Jettanbass9, Feb 21, 2013.

1. Jettanbass9

Jettanbass9 Member

Looking to play around with some American oak chips in some low to moderate gravity beers (< 1.060). Any experiences in amounts and contact times?
  2. telejunkie

telejunkie Member

sorry, can't be too much service here as I have limited experience, but couple questions...you looking to soak in anything prior? toast levels? have you ever considered pre-fermentation like with wine?
    American oak is definitely more in your face than French or Hungarian so you will probably want to tame it with a soaking. Moderation & monitoring are key.
  3. reverseapachemaster

reverseapachemaster Member

Is never an option? I've used chips and don't care for the flavor, especially the lesser toasted chips. I can never seem to get the lumber flavor out of it no matter how much I boil or soak them. Obviously more of a problem the less it is toasted but not entirely helped with a char.

The thing about chips is that they will impart flavor fast and if you overdo it you will sit on that beer for a long time waiting for the wood flavor to mellow. So I would go in with a small volume of chips and taste daily. The day you are happy with the flavor pull the chips immediately. If you decide you want more flavor you can always add more chips but once the flavor is there you can't take it back out as easily.
  4. barfdiggs

barfdiggs Member