1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Do you think old ipa's can be good?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by DarkDragon999, Jun 8, 2013.

1. I know the general consensus is old ipa = bad but I just had an ipa that was bottled Sept '12 and it tasted fine to me. Granted I'm not an ipa expert but I tasted the hops and it didnt seem like they had faded.

creepinjeeper likes this.
  2. Brodie91

Brodie91 Initiate (0) New York Jul 13, 2012

Absolutely. Hops will definitely fade with time but the beer will still be fine.

devlishdamsel likes this.
  3. HighWine

HighWine Savant (375) Illinois Dec 11, 2010

I think you answered your own question.

mcrago and Roguer like this.
  4. I think the general idea is that the hops will fade to the point where your money will be better spent on a fresher one, even if it's by a different brewer. But, if someone was to put one in my hand that was 9 months old I'd still be able to get some enjoyment out of it and there would still be some hop character left. I guess 'bad' is just a relative term with these things.

5. nc41

nc41 Advocate (745) North Carolina Sep 25, 2008

I think if you like malty brews an older IPA would be just that.

6. I don't think 9 months makes it "old", just not fresh. The flavor profile will change, with hops fading and malt flavors coming forward. If you hate that, then yes it's bad. If you like it, it's good. I'm aging a couple 120's because I love the malt in that beer.

dianimal likes this.
  7. Dennoman

Dennoman Advocate (505) Belgium Aug 20, 2011