Dry Yeast.... Not too shabby.

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by psnydez86, Apr 3, 2013.

1. So I've been brewing for a few years and have been using liquid yeast/appropriate starters since my second beer. I've made some very tasty beers with liquid but after reading numerous people on the forums having great success with dry yeast I decided to give it a shot.

Wow! Made a Citra/Centennial pale ale with us-05, and a robust porter with us-05 also. A couple of my best beers to date. I made a Helles a few months ago with wlp 830 starter and it was awesome.

With spring springing here in PA I'm getting thirsty for some hoppy German pils. Do I dare try my hand at dry lager yeast?? I think so!! I've heard decent reviews on S-23, and even better reviews of the 34/70. Any thoughts on which would work out good for a German pils?

2. Many say that WLP 830 is the same as 34/70.

psnydez86 likes this.
  3. I had no idea. Awesome!!

4. mylar

mylar Aficionado (180) Pennsylvania Dec 13, 2011

Either of those two will work well in a pils, just remember you'll probably need 2 packs per 5 gallons instead of just 1

5. That's what I figured mr.malty would tell me. Thank you.

6. AlCaponeJunior

AlCaponeJunior Champion (800) Texas May 21, 2010

I have used US-05 in perhaps 35-40% of my beers so far. It always does the trick and the beer comes out great. I keep some in the fridge all the time now.

Nottingham is also a favorite, worth a try if you haven't used it.

I've used S-04 a few times, also with good results.

Used Windsor once, had no problems despite some claims that it's "finicky." That beer came out fine too.

Dry yeast is my default choice, unless I have a specific reason for using something that comes in liquid.

Tebuken, johntangus and HopNuggets like this.
  7. A packet of W34/70 is about 5 bucks. You need two packets so your cost is 10 bucks.

I personally buy liquid lager yeast and make a starter since it is cheaper.

Cheers!