1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

First Lager

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by JUNCK, Feb 20, 2013.

1. JUNCK

JUNCK Aficionado (135) Washington Jan 7, 2011

Looking for ideas/recipes for a lager. The temp in my garage is perfect and it's time to try. Any ideas?

2. premierpro

premierpro Savant (290) Michigan Mar 21, 2009

What style do you want to brew? How big is your system? Extract or all grain?

3. VikeMan

VikeMan Advocate (740) Pennsylvania Jul 12, 2009

What kind of lagers do you like to drink?

4. JUNCK

I don't know what style I want to brew. I mostly drink ales. Too be honest I have been drinking beer for 20+ years and can't remember I lager I liked more than a pale ale but I would like to change that. My system can handle 5 - 10 gallon batches. All grain.

5. JUNCK

There is a lager from Maritime Pacific Brewing Company called Old Seattle I like. I think it's a Munich Helles Lager but that doesn't mean that is what I have to brew.

6. premierpro

5 gallon batch
    10lbs wyermann pils malt
    4oz melenoiden malt
    Mash at 152 for an hour
    boil for 90 min.
    1-2 oz Hallertau, tett, saaz,or spalt for 60 min
    1oz @ 15 min'
    1oz@ 5 min
    WLP830 or WLP800
    Good luck!

7. sarcastro

sarcastro Savant (415) Michigan Sep 20, 2006

I think Munich Dunkels are good lagers to start with.

8. JUNCK

What should my OG be? Do I sparge?

9. premierpro

I pluged this recipe into Beer Tools based on using 2oz Hallertau @ 4.5%
    OG 1.052
    FG 1.015
    Color 5.15
    Bitterness 46.6
    4.8% abv
    I fly sparge.
    Good luck!

10. premierpro

I agree. I look at this site at work and do not have my recipe book here. I have two kegs of Munich Dunkel lagering right now. One of witch I will be bringing to the Michigan Home Brew Festival. Hope to see you there.