First time Imperial IPA

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by mcaulifww, Apr 4, 2012.

Tags:
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mcaulifww

mcaulifww Initiate (0) Aug 18, 2011 Virginia

2. jokelahoma

jokelahoma Savant (1,138) May 9, 2004 Missouri

Looks okay, but I wonder why you're using the flaked oats. You're not going to get much out of 4 ounces except perhaps a bit of haze, even in a two gallon batch. If you have a particular reason for it, by all means keep it, but I'm not seeing where it would play a big role here. Otherwise, looks okay to me.

3. premierpro

premierpro Savant (1,060) Mar 21, 2009 Michigan

I agree with jokelahoma about the flaked oats. Your beer should drink well either way. I like your choice of hops. Have fun.

4. mcaulifww

thanks guys. you answered two of my questions i didn't even think to ask.

i adapted this from a recipe I found online. The oats were for i think head retention, but I've never used them before. I'm all for leaving them out.

And i'm glad you like the hop choices. I don't have any experience dry hopping. Is 1oz. for a week a good amount? am I adding bitterness at this point or mostly just aroma? are pellets the way to go or whole hops?

Let me know if there are any other tweaks i should make

5. OddNotion

OddNotion Pooh-Bah (1,853) Nov 1, 2009 New Jersey
    Pooh-Bah Society

No bitterness just from dry hopping, just flavor and aroma. I only use pellets for all my hopping uses just out of a matter of convenience.

6. Thorpe429

Thorpe429 Grand Pooh-Bah (3,655) Aug 18, 2008 Illinois
    Pooh-Bah

If you want better head retention, you'd be better off going with something like CaraPils.

One ounce for a week is a bit on the low side for an Imperial IPA, but it's not out of the ballpark. After all, you can always go for a second round of dry hopping.