1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

galaxy IIPA recipe critique

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by mountsnow1010, Nov 26, 2012.

1. mountsnow1010

mountsnow1010 Savant (360) Vermont Jan 23, 2009

Hi all -

Can anyone critique this recipe/offer opinions as to how to make it more (potentially) tasty? I am not set on much about it other than making a single-hopped Galaxy IIPA, I am willing to change anything else.

http://hopville.com/recipe/1664181

Cheers, and thanks to anyone willing to lend some advice (I am a bit of a novice)!

2. mcc1654

mcc1654 Savant (355) Illinois Mar 20, 2011

I don't think the high gravity yeast is necessary for this beer. I would just use US-05/001/1056.

3. mountsnow1010

Ok! I wasn't sure. Haven't brewed something quite this alcoholic before. Thanks!

4. mcc1654

I believe US-05/001/1056 are tolerant up to around 11%. Just make sure to pitch enough cells for healthy fermentation.

mountsnow1010 likes this.
  5. I think that will be a fine super hoppy double ipa that will age gracefully. The thing you want to focus on with a big beer like that is proper pitching rate. Consult mrmalty.com for pitching rates and if you don't have the ability to do a starter your gonna need to pitch multiple vials/packs of yeast but mr malty can be a great guide. Good wort aeration prior to pitching will help also maybe a yeast nutrient addition will help also.

6. I might drop one of the late hop additions so you can dry hop it with 2oz instead of one, but that's just personal preference. The recipe as is should be plenty tasty.

7. mountsnow1010

Good to know, I'll be sure to do that! I may be able to do a starter by the time I start this batch, we'll see...