1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Growler Fills

Discussion in 'US - Southwest' started by ChanceK, Sep 6, 2012.

1. ChanceK

ChanceK Member

What's the deal with this? I'm new to craft and I heard about this on a different post. So you can just take in an empty growler to places and they fill it up? Who does this in the San Antonio area?
  2. jbeezification

jbeezification Member

I can't speak for San Antonio but yes, a lot of craft beer bars allow growler fills. Its common and awesome. Also, usually it's cheaper than the price of drinking a few pints.
  3. ChanceK

ChanceK Member

What about bars / beer shops / certain supermarkets? Can growler fills be done there?
  4. paulys55

paulys55 Member

Yep, beer to go. Some places will only fill their own growlers and some states have strange laws about them but most will fill any growler as long as it is of a standard size. Once you open it, drink it that night or the next day and even that next day it may not be so great.
  5. champ103

champ103 Member

If the certain establishment has the right permits, then they can sell growlers to go. In San Antonio, I know Freetail will fill any growler you bring in.
  6. jbeezification

jbeezification Member

Whole Foods Market is the only grocery store I know that does growler fills. Reasonably priced also and they usually feature local beers.
  7. kmello69

kmello69 Member

Yup. I got a growler of Franklins BBQ Smoked Porter at WF Bee Caves the other day. $12 for 64 oz
  8. Azzy

Azzy Member

An establishment with a beer and wine license can fill growlers. In Houston I know Hay Merchant, Whole Foods, and Petrol Station fill growlers, Premium Draught will be filling up growlers soon too.
  9. Grendle

Grendle Member