1. Extreme Beer Fest tickets go on sale Sat, Sep 27 @ Noon EDT.
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Hefeweizen SMaSH?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by vfiend, Jun 20, 2013.

1. vfiend

vfiend Disciple (70) Colorado Jul 18, 2012

Anyone ever do a SMaSH (Single Malt and Single Hop) Hefeweizen?

I like Hefe's a lot and I'm intrigued by the simplicity of the SMaSH idea. But I'm pretty new to brewing and don't really have a clue about designing beers.

I was just wondering what this would be like, if it's possible, if it's stoopid or wh-at.

Opine my fellow brewers. Opine.

2. VikeMan

VikeMan Advocate (740) Pennsylvania Jul 12, 2009

I haven't. But a single malt beer would pretty much by definition not be a hefeweizen, which is made from wheat malt (50-70%), with pilsner malt for the rest.

But you could certainly use Wheat Malt -or- Pilsner Malt, hop with a single Noble Hop, and ferment with a Weizen yeast. It wouldn't really be a hefe, but might be interesting.

3. vfiend

I was thinking maybe Hallertau for the hop

4. inchrisin

inchrisin Savant (435) Indiana Sep 25, 2008

That'd be my go to hop. I'd shoot high on the hops if I did all wheat and consider a late hop addition too. I'm not sure why, but I think that wheat malt has something kind of sweet about it that needs a counter-balance.

5. AlCaponeJunior

AlCaponeJunior Champion (790) Texas May 21, 2010

I would happily try it. Don't be afraid to experiment, especially if you're doing five gallon batches.