1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Help: shipping beer

Discussion in 'Beer Trading Talk & Help' started by jbravato, Sep 25, 2012.

1. jbravato

jbravato Zealot (75) Pennsylvania Nov 11, 2010

I am going to make my first shipment soon and I've never done it before! How does one go about successfully shipping beer? Any help would be appreciated.

2. jaIsPoAn

jaIsPoAn Savant (375) New York Aug 1, 2012

Bubble rap and lots of it

3. JustinQ

JustinQ Savant (305) California Nov 24, 2011

4. MordorMongo

MordorMongo Initiate (0) Jul 19, 2009

If you aren't comfortable dropping it from waist height on to concrete then start over. Seriously.

5. jbravato

jbravato Zealot (75) Pennsylvania Nov 11, 2010

I was leaning more towards the actual shipping like weighing and printing labels and taking it to the shipping store!

6. Dat

Dat Savant (340) Texas Aug 5, 2007

Create an online account with FedEx or UPS. Measure the box, enter the dimensions and then either weigh or estimate the weight of the box. Print the shipping label, affix label, drop off package and done.

7. Azzy

Azzy Savant (300) Texas Jul 16, 2012

Yeah, I should've made a Fed Ex acct from the beginning. You save a crapload.

8. Gcarns

Gcarns Aficionado (125) California Jul 21, 2010

Can anyone elaborate on this? I usually just drop it off to my local UPS store, but how does printing your own labels save you money?

9. robinsmv

robinsmv Initiate (0) Florida Jun 24, 2010

If you set up an online account at FedEx you get 8% off ground shipments and 16% off express (someone please correct me if I'm wrong with my numbers) when you set up the shipping online and print the label from home.