1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Homebrew mistake

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by drperry11, Mar 12, 2012.

1. drperry11

drperry11 Member

I recently started brewing and made my first batch which was a recipe from the local homebrew shop. I told him I was a newbie and wanted him to simplify the recipe as much as possible. Now that I have tasted the beer I wish I would have went through the necessary steps to make my beer better. The recipe was very simple and involved no steeping grains and it was super easy.
    Have you guys ever had this experience on your first homebrew?
  2. Smurf2055

Smurf2055 Member

I recently brewed my first batch as well. I went with a porter. It was part extract, part steeping, single hops. Pretty sure I activated the yeast pack too early, forgot to add brown sugar to the boil, so I added it during the cool down instead, didn't have a hydrometer testing tube so I couldn't take an OG reading, unnecessarily transferred to a carboy for primary fermentation, used table sugar for priming, and had no idea how to siphon it on bottling day.

Co-workers and I think it's really good though, it's a miracle. There's a lot to keep track of, so if you know anyone who has experience in homebrewing, I can see how it would make things a lot easier to have them around.
  3. Spider889

Spider889 Member

I am going to try switching to corn sugar for my next couple of batches because that's what came with my kit that I used in my first batch. That beer likely had the best carbonation of any beer I have yet brewed. I have tried brown sugar and maple syrup and both are horrible for priming. Frankly, table sugar is working very well for me right now, but I think the corn sugar lends a tad more body to the head (from what I remember from a year and a half ago).