1. American Craft Beer Fest returns to Boston on May 29 & 30, featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers. Tickets are on sale now.

Hop rhizomes

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by RumHam, Feb 21, 2013.

1. RumHam

RumHam Aficionado (125) Virginia Feb 15, 2013

My LHBS is taking preorders for hop rhizomes, $5 each. Anyone have experience growing these. I'm in northern VA outside DC and I've heard cascade is the most foolproof for this climate. They are offering cascade, centennial, chinook, nugget, n brewer, willamette, fuggles, and mt hood.

Anyone have experience growing these? What all would I need and what should I know before ordering?

2. I have no experience with this, but from what I've seen and read, nearly everyone that homegrows hops, grows more than one variety (at least the first year). That way they can see what does better in their area. Temperature and climate are not the only factors in hop production. Soil, planting location etc..., can play a big part in the amount of yield.
    If folks in your area say cascade grows the best, then go with some of those, but I would pick one or two other varieties that you like and plant those as well.
    This, of course, all hinges on the amount of available space you have for growing.

3. benidy

benidy Aficionado (130) Missouri May 4, 2008

Contact your local homebrew club. I'm sure there are brewer/gardener's in the area that can help.

For what it's worth, I used to live in central Indiana and had great success with Cascade and Chinook. Centennial and Willamette were constantly under attack from a variety of garden pests. After 3 years of struggling with them, I nuked them. I have heard that Nugget is pretty hardy. Nugget and Sunbeam (?) are the most common varietals that you will see at garden centers.

4. benidy