How long do you tend to cellar your favorite stout?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by imduffman, Dec 27, 2012.

1. imduffman

imduffman Aficionado (170) Ohio Oct 22, 2012

I've been aging beer for about 3 years now and tend to open things after 6 months to a year. It's amazing how much thing can change in a matter of months. Stone ris was the first that i pulled out a bottle every 3 months for a year. I found i enjoyed the 3 month mark more than the others. what were your thoughts and favorites?

2. I am really fond of BCBS with 10-12 months on it. With that said, I absolutely love it fresh too!

3. 71gto

71gto Savant (270) Illinois Jun 3, 2009

I opened a bottle of '07 BCBS last winter and have to say it was aged too much. I also had a bottle of speedway stout that was aged about 3 years and like it fresh better. KBS seems to taste fantastic regardless.

Not a stout, but Gnarleywine with a few years on it is amazing.

4. Wasn't the '07 a twist off? I've heard lots of problems with that year. Not that it changes your opinion but I had an '06 a few months back and it was delicious.

5. I have had multiple bombers of 2009 BCBS that have held up extremely well over time and still taste great. Unfortunately, 2010 Abyss (which I thought was amazing when it came out) seems to be going downhill with every bottle that I have opened since its release.

jglowe77 likes this.
  6. 90% of them I don't let go past 2 years.

tronto likes this.
  7. EricCioe

EricCioe Savant (460) Montana Aug 7, 2010

A year or more with Expedition. Haven't had one old enough to be bad yet.

8. imduffman

imduffman Aficionado (170) Ohio Oct 22, 2012

creme brulee is spot on at 6-8 months. i always cellar one for new years

9. 71gto

71gto Savant (270) Illinois Jun 3, 2009

Did not even think to check that. Used a bottle opener before I tried.

10. Anonymous1

Anonymous1 Savant (445) Illinois Mar 19, 2012