1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

How long does it take to develop a palate for craft beer?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by broodog, Jan 29, 2013.

1. broodog

broodog Savant (345) Illinois Jul 18, 2009

So, I've been drinking craft beer for 5 years. In that time, I tried to expose myself to as many different styles as possible. After the first year, I fancied myself as having an expert palate. This turned out to be far from the truth. To this day, I'm no expert, and I'm continually finding new flavors, smells, and mouthfeels that I hadn't noticed before when drinking previously drank styles and beers. These are my 3 questions.

How long does it take to develop an expert palate? Is it different for everyone?

How much credit should we give to reviews/talk of the newbies on the site, who may not know what they're dealing with?

Cheers

2. JM03

JM03 Initiate (0) Ohio Nov 12, 2010

The only "expert" palate is your own. Everyone will differ. As far as I'm concerned, I think it is a learning process forever.

3. Hanzo

Hanzo Champion (955) Virginia Feb 27, 2012

I think it is just an ongoing thing, there is no set time as your palate can change many times over your drinking career.

tut2528 and Lantern like this.
  4. Many, many years. You won't get a "right" answer to your question because there are too many variables. You would be able to shorten your palate development if you took courses in detecting off-flavors, worked in a brewery, and traveled around the world drinking beer, trying to drink all different beer styles and representations from each country.

5. acevenom

acevenom Advocate (545) Louisiana Oct 7, 2011