1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

How Long is Too Long in Primary Fermenter?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by emilystrikesagai, May 30, 2012.

1. I've got a Brewers Best kit Belgian Caramel Wit in my primary for about 4 weeks - I've been out of town and busy with work and just haven't had time to bottle.

I'm pretty new at brewing and up until now have always. followed. directions (BB kits say 2 weeks but I think that's kind of soon).

What can I expect? How long is too long if I bottle it tomorrow night?
  2. VikeMan

VikeMan Advocate (740) Pennsylvania Jul 12, 2009

Most folks would say that 4 weeks is not too long, given healthy yeast and reasonable temperatures in a homebrew setting. Some people routinely go 4 weeks or even longer.
  3. Good to hear! Interesting that kits would say 2 weeks then. Is that to oversimplify it?

I'm going to bottle it and drink it anyway, I just wanted to understand any problems I may encounter.
  4. “Interesting that kits would say 2 weeks then. Is that to oversimplify it?” Well, in all probability the fermentation of that beer was completed in 2 weeks. Some folks like to leave their beers in the primary for ‘extra’ time to obtain the benefits of ‘maturing’ during this additional bulk conditioning time.

To get back to the specific question of “How Long is Too Long in Primary Fermenter?” The principle concerns for extended time in a primary fermenter are yeast autolysis and the potential for oxidation if you are using a plastic fermenter.

The risk of yeast autolysis (the ‘breakdown’ of the dormant yeast) is debated amongst homebrewers. The conventional rule of thumb was (is?) to not let your beer ‘sit’ on the dormant yeast for more than 4 weeks. The timeframe of 4 weeks is not ‘cut and dry’ but it would be wise to not let the beer ‘sit’ on the dormant yeast for months.