1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

How long is too long?

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by dolphz, Jan 19, 2013.

1. dolphz

dolphz Aspirant (40) Illinois Jan 13, 2011

I have been aging a few beers for several years, 2005 Darklord, 2007 Worldwide Stot, several years of BCS, a bunch of different barleywines (Bigfoot, Olde School, Old Foghorn, Old Horizontal, etc). My question is, how long is too long to leave it in the cellar (my cellar is a cabinet next to the foundation in the basement)? I've found BCS is great after 3 years, the Darklord was amazing at 6, a WWW was bad after 8 years. Is there an optimal age by style?

Thanks all!
  2. Duff27

Duff27 Advocate (590) Illinois Feb 10, 2010

Not as much by style as by particular beer. Even then you will find a wide array of answers for any given beer. Keep in mind that not everyone is aging/cellaring at the same temperatures and lighting situations. Your best bet it to keep "experimenting" and find your own "sweet spot" for beers that you enjoy in general. Cheers.
  3. dolphz

dolphz Aspirant (40) Illinois Jan 13, 2011

I just opened a 10 year old bottle of Avery Reverend that I was sure was going to have gone bad, its actually really good! The overwhelming sweetness it used to have has mellowed significantly, and it still had corbonation.
  4. RDMII

RDMII Savant (290) Georgia Apr 11, 2010