1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

How often do you buy stuff you've never had off the shelf

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by djrn2, Feb 9, 2013.

1. djrn2

djrn2 Champion (780) New Jersey Nov 4, 2009

Im at a point know where 90% of the time when I'm shopping I get at least 1 bottle I've never tried before. It's easy when new breweries are coming in but usually it's a dumb bud product or an import.
  2. robhbest

robhbest Aficionado (195) Michigan Apr 16, 2012

Lately I've been trying to make it a habit of buying something new everytime I make a beer run. My local shop almost always has something different coming in.
    Blueribbon666 and djrn2 like this.
  3. Every time I go to the liquor store I buy something new. There's so much new beer to try! Ever since I started buying craft beer I've only bought like 4 beers more than once: Yuengling, Left Hand Milk Stout, and SA Boston Lager, and Winter Lager.
  4. I'm with you, I get a new beer everytime I go beer shopping. There are just too many great beers to choose from to drink the same thing all the time.
  5. Hanzo

Hanzo Champion (955) Virginia Feb 27, 2012

As a ticker this is pretty much standard operating procedure.
    luwak, YogiBeer, rolltide8425 and 3 others like this.
  6. scootsmal

scootsmal Savant (250) New York Aug 15, 2012

Every trip i get at least a sixer of something new.
  7. If I have the option of building a six-pack of singles, then it's 6 new beers. If I have to buy a full six-pack then 90% of the time it's something that I know I like.
    Kerrie likes this.
  8. I usually will try several brews at one of the local pubs with a large tap selection and they rotate the craft beers a lot. When that doesn't happen, I use the apps on my phone to check reviews (when I know what style I want).