1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Huge changes in the brewing industry

Discussion in 'Canada' started by vancouvercynic, Feb 24, 2013.

1. vancouvercynic

vancouvercynic Initiate (20) Feb 24, 2013

I worked in the brewery industry for 30 long but enjoyable years. I see huge changes starting to happen with what I coined as 'industrial' brewers. Even though Labatt and Molson still have the largest shares in Canada's marketplace one could envision their shrinkage, at least in B.C. with the advent of micro brewers starting in the 1980's.

Even though most of the start ups failed either do to poor funding (under capitalization) or a lack of knowledge concerning the brewing process. All that has changed now to the point that the 'craft brewers' have gone from 7% of the market too 15% of market share in something like 5 years in B.C. alone.

In the beer trade that is huge!

Meanwhile, the industrial brewers shares in the marketplace have shrunk by that and more. Wine sales are up as are some spirits, so along with the craft brewers they combine in taking more and more market share from the industrial producers.

The same can be said for the USA. Over the years it became more and more obvious to me that the geniuses in marketing were in fact dictating how it should taste and how it should look in the glass . Even worse these same giants of circle thinking came up with the idea to use green glass instead dark brown only because it looked like imported beer. Somehow they equated quality with glass and not what was inside it . For decades we had used stubby bottles. In fact we had some that had been in the system for 25 years. They were tough bottles! The green 'tall' bottles might last through three or four refills but because they are so thin they would scruff easily or fall apart in the bottle washer or blow up in the bottle filler.