1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

If color doesnt make a difference in flavor, why do I prefer dark?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Blakebcg, Jan 27, 2013.

1. I'm new to the craft beer world. One thing I've noticed is I LOVE stouts. So far I've never had a stout I didn't adore. I also have noticed A lot of paler, lighter beers, I dislike, or I dont like as much as darker beers.

I've read time and time again color has nothing to do with flavor, but if that's the case, why do I prefer beers that happen to be darker?
  2. afrokaze

afrokaze Advocate (620) California Jun 12, 2009

Color does have something to do with flavor. The common misconception is that dark beers are always stronger, which is not true at all.
  3. Greywulfken

Greywulfken Champion (890) New York Aug 25, 2010

Yeah, color is indicative of the malt(s), which is/are the base flavor for a beer, so its a HUGE ;) (see the bigger font I used, lol) difference-maker; and as afrokaze said, the only misconception I encounter (among the uninitiated) is that darker = stronger.

You're gonna find that many general categories of beer types that are based on malt and color - ambers, blondes, darks, and the as-you-said incredibly delicious stouts.

I started with stouts, too - lovin' them - since they were the most radical departure from the crap lagers like Bud - but as I've been drinking, I've kinda come back around to the palers ales (not lagers so much), and I think I am honestly (whaaat?) a little partial to the pale ales these days - but nothing closes the day better than a porter/stout.

Yo, good drinking to you, bro! Cheers!
  4. tewaris

tewaris Advocate (595) Minnesota Jul 14, 2009

Obligatory "once you go black..."
  5. antilite

antilite Aficionado (155) Florida Jan 1, 2012

One word: Roasted
    Providence likes this.
  6. tennispl

tennispl Initiate (0) Washington Dec 28, 2012