1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

IPA: English or American?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Brianhophead, Jul 26, 2012.

1. I got to thinking about how my oldest brother and I differ in our approach to beer. I more or less tend to prefer English versions of beer styles and my brother loves the American versions.

My question to all if you is which version of India Pale Ale do you all prefer? English, or American and don't be afraid to say why.
  2. I prefer American because I have more availability to them. All my favorite IPAs besides Commodore Perry from Great Lakes fall into the American category. Although I am relatively new to the craft game that's my preference thus far.
  3. DevilsCups

DevilsCups Savant (330) New York Mar 3, 2010

Big, fruity, juicy american IPA's. To me, one of the Vermont big-boys hit's every note I need hit.
    StubFaceJoe and ediaz like this.
  4. American.
    Noble hop varieties, when used in abundance, give me a type of metallic coppery flavor that I'm not a fan of.
    Beerandraiderfan likes this.
  5. Grohnke

Grohnke Savant (380) Illinois Sep 15, 2009

English as of right now. Atm, I am so unbelievably tired of American citrus hops.
    Blueribbon666 and jmw like this.
  6. So many more sticky icky icky pot heads in CA and Vermont...I love how American IPA's bring me back to my youth.

English style doesn't do this for me.
    grilledsquid likes this.
  7. American style IPAs are my preference but I do enjoy an English style IPA from time to time.

Needless to say but the largest difference between the two styles is the hop varieties used. The stereotypical finishing hops for an English style IPA are English hops: e.g., Fuggles and East Kent Goldings. There are some differences in malt profiles as well.