1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

IPAs/DIPAs with decent shelf life

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by LCB_Hostage, Jul 16, 2013.

1. LCB_Hostage

LCB_Hostage Member

I'm definitely not a zealot when it comes to having to drink beer with 30 seconds of it rolling off the bottling line, but I will concede that IPAs in particular can suffer over time. That said, I have a case of Racer 5 I've been working my way through for 3-4 months now. With all the other great IPAs in my fridge, it's taking me longer than I'd anticipated, but I have to say, time doesn't seem to have caught up to these beers yet. I opened one last night and it was still fresh, tasty and refreshing. I've noticed that Bear Republic's Hop Rod Rye seems to hold up well, also. Other IPAs/DIPAs that seem to stand the test of time (IMO), including Smuttynose Finest Kind, Stone's Ruination, Green Flash West Coast IPA and Palate Wrecker, Victory Hopwallop and Lagunitas Maximus.

On the other side of the ledger, from my experience, are Flower Power, Union Jack and Double Jack, SN Torpedo and especially Hoptimum, Centenial, Sculpan and Deviant Dales (probably the most noticeable drop off of any I've listed).

Anyone else want to offer their personal observations? Any explanations (different types of hops, brewing process, etc.)
    JackHorzempa likes this.
  2. Momar42

Momar42 Member

Dark Horse Double Crooked Tree is fantastic with over a year on it. Becomes a DIPA/BW liquid delight.
    DyingBreed likes this.
  3. JackHorzempa

JackHorzempa Member

In your post I definitely agree that Flower Power, Union Jack and Sculpin ‘fall of the cliff’ in a relatively short period of time.