Is 63F too cool for full attenuation?

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Wanda, Nov 11, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Wanda

Wanda Crusader (494) Nov 23, 2006 Tennessee

So I've got an Imperial Stout bubbling away (24hrs in at 8pm on Monday). This is my first time using any sort of temperature control, not counting closing or opening the one and only vent in my brew room, so I can set the temp to whatever I want. The fermentation chamber is set to 63 and the little thermo strip on the side of the carboy reads 63. I know inside the wort it's probably warmer but is the 63 ambient too cool to encourage full attenuation? The stout clocked in at 1.082 OG and I pitched two packs of properly rehydrated S-05.

This is the "biggest" beer I've done to date so fingers crossed.

2. IPeteA91

IPeteA91 Initiate (0) Nov 10, 2012 Texas

after 48hrs the bulk of the flavor esters have been made, I would recommend raising it up to 68 after that.

pweis909 and Wanda like this.
  3. GreenKrusty101

GreenKrusty101 Initiate (0) Dec 4, 2008 Nevada

Sounds about right...I'd raise it up slowly to 68 as already mentioned

4. HerbMeowing

HerbMeowing Maven (1,271) Nov 10, 2010 Virginia
    Trader

No experience to speak of ... only that S-05 min temp is listed @ 59°F (15C).

5. VikeMan

VikeMan Grand Pooh-Bah (3,043) Jul 12, 2009 Pennsylvania
    Pooh-Bah Society

It wouldn't hurt to raise the temperature toward the end, to speed things up. But there's no reason it shouldn't finish at 63F.

6. PortLargo

PortLargo Pooh-Bah (1,737) Oct 19, 2012 Florida
    Pooh-Bah Society

If anything you may be too warm. I'm guessing you want your US05 to be working around 64-66. The heat of fermentation will add ~4-6 degrees so your wort is pushing that limit. Remember, the yeast love the warmer temps, it's the drinker who wants it cooler.