Left Hand Nitro Milk Stout Question

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by dmbenjamin1415, Feb 5, 2013.

1. Hey all BA members! I've been using this site for several years, but this is my first thread posting.

I live in Virginia and have been waiting for Left Hand's Nitro Milk Stout to be shipped here since it's initial release. Finally, this past week to my great surprise I happened to spot it at a local beer shop. I bought 2 six packs and have been enjoying them for the past couple of days.

Anyways, my question is when I pour (strongly as directed) I can never get that classic Guinness-esque nitro cascading appearance, it just looks like every other straight black stout pour. Never mind how hard I pour or at what angle I try it never has the cascading appearance I was expecting and read in reviews of the nitro-bottle. I've tried milk stouts from both six packs with the same result. The born on date is clearly stamped on each bottle and they seem to well within date, so any idea what gives?

2. Mgm54

Mgm54 Savant (375) Illinois Apr 7, 2011

When I pour this beer, I put my pint glass on a table or the floor, and completely turn the bottle upside down. Works for me every time and never spills over. Have you done this?

stoney1031 likes this.
  3. This is how I do it too. Still amazes me every time when it doesn't spill. Fun party trick...watch the host or hostess freak out thinking you are going to spill all over their carpet.

4. It's an all-around awesome beer. My friend got this for me a couple of weeks before Christmas and it's one of the better milk stouts and, as you all alluded to, one of the funnest beers to pour.

5. Zimm

Zimm Savant (490) New Jersey May 18, 2012

I put the bottle on the floor, line up the bottle, flip it 180 degrees, and use 6'4" frame to see how high I can get the bottle off the floor. It works like a charm for me!