1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Left Hand Warrior

Discussion in 'US - Mountain' started by SFACRKnight, Oct 20, 2012.

1. SFACRKnight

SFACRKnight Advocate (595) Colorado Jan 20, 2012

Glad to see it made it back this year. I found this is the only IPA I have ever had that has the same smells on the nose that I experience when I brew and do my hop additions. Such a great beer.

2. denver10

denver10 Champion (900) Kentucky Nov 17, 2010

Tried it the other week at The Mayor...I have mixed thoughts on it. For just being an IPA I enjoyed it, for being a fresh hopped IPA I was expecting a little more assertiveness from the hops. Seemed, at least to me, like the malt kinda took over a little in that one. I am new to fresh hopped brews, however, so it is entirely possible my expectations were entirely unfair.

3. joshclauss

joshclauss Savant (315) Colorado Oct 31, 2010

@SFACRKnight, is the Warrior an English-style IPA? When I think of fresh hop beers, I want an American style, so I've been keeping away. Can you describe the flavor profile of the Warrior?

4. Domingo

Domingo Champion (945) Colorado Apr 23, 2005

Warrior's a normal American style fresh-hopped ale. It has both Warrior and either Cascade or Columbus (I forget) hops from the western slope in it. If you've had GD's Fresh Hop, it's similar, but certainly different at the same time. If you've ever had their Stranger, the malt profile is similar. Plus, unlike normal IPA's, fresh hopped ones tend to have less bitterness and more of an herbal, grassy, and sometimes even minty note.

I was talking to the LH rep about it last week and it was only on tap at the moment, but bottles were due soon. The Royal Hilltop had some 2 weeks ago but their keg got emptied in just a couple days.

5. denver10