liquid Yeast vs dry yeast

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by CollegeKid, Apr 5, 2012.

1. CollegeKid

CollegeKid Disciple (55) New York Nov 18, 2010

I know liquid yeast is considered much better and produces a better product but I have never used it before. how do I use it? What do I have to do?

2. cracker

cracker Savant (405) Pennsylvania May 2, 2004

Well if brewing a beer under 1.050 original gravity and the yeast is fresh, you can directly add it to the wort (fermenter). If you have a stronger beer or the yeast is not so fresh, it's best you make a yeast starter which is quite easy to do and I recommend to make one regardless.

3. “I know liquid yeast is considered much better and produces a better product”. I personally don’t agree with that. Dry beer yeasts are quality yeasts. The only ‘issue’ with dry yeast is that there are limited strains in the dry form.

I always use dry yeast when it is appropriate for the beer style I am brewing. I am presently homebrewing a Porter and I will be pitching a dry yeast (about 50 minutes from now).

Cheers!

dbalsock, barfdiggs and Holland like this.
  4. rlcoffey

rlcoffey Advocate (500) Kentucky Apr 20, 2004

Agreed. Well, not always. I use dry for a number of styles, but there are a few cases in which Ive tried the dry and gone back to liquid. S-23 for example.

5. GreenKrusty101

GreenKrusty101 Savant (485) Nevada Dec 4, 2008 Verified

I prefer dry (US-05) for anything I'd use 1056 or 001, but liquid was on order today for me because I wanted to try the Cream blend (080) and get a Kolsch (2565) going before it gets too hot.