1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Looking for my new favorite beer

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by Zetan, Jan 11, 2013.

1. Zetan

Zetan Aspirant (25) North Carolina Jan 11, 2013

Hey all,

I'm fairly new to drinking beer in general, but I've been learning a lot since my job started serving it. The first beer I really enjoyed was Guinness Draught (the one in the bottle). Since then, I've been trying out local/craft beers. I can't stand anything lighter than a porter (even an amber is too pale for me) but most porters (and especially stouts) tend on the bitter side.

I have found a few beers I enjoy, but they tend to have other flavors besides just beer. Aviator's Frostnipper, Highland's Thunderstruck, and Saranac's Caramel Porter are all delicious, but sometimes I want a beer that doesn't have a hint of nutmeg, coffee, or caramel. Sometimes I just want a beer that tastes like beer.

So I came here looking for suggestions. I've got a local store that does craft beer, so as long as it isn't too obscure, availability shouldn't be too much of a problem. So, what do you guys think?

tl;dr - I'm looking for a dark beer, not too bitter, and with no other flavors besides that of beer.

2. Zetan

Anyone?

3. Your location matters a lot, as most craft beer companies do not distribute their products nationally.

I'd recommend Deschutes- Black Butte Porter or Great Lakes- Edmund Fitzgerald, but again, I don't know if your in a state that gets those beers.

You could also go with a Dark Lager, like Port Brewings Hot Rocks Lager or Midnight Expressions.

Gosox8787 likes this.
  4. Not sure where you're at, but if you can grab Smuttynose Robust Porter, I think you'll really enjoy it.