1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Macrobreweries new beers

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by camhack, Jan 17, 2013.

1. camhack

camhack Aficionado (120) Illinois Jul 9, 2011

I enjoy trying new beers from BMC and the like, hoping that'll it will be good. Wishful thinking I guess. Anyways I have tried bud light platinum, becks black sapphire, and Bud Black Crown. They all taste the same. All have a high sweetness with that touch of alcohol. I am not very good at describing tastes in any beer, but does anyone else agree that these 3 all taste the same? And will macrobreweries ever make an outstanding lager for a change?

2. Derranged

Derranged Advocate (525) New York Mar 7, 2010

Of those three, I've only had Bud Light Platinum, which was drinkable. It tasted kind of like a Euro Strong Lager. I do plan on trying those other two.

3. acevenom

acevenom Advocate (545) Louisiana Oct 7, 2011

Budweiser Black Crown is the same beer as Batch No. 91406. I thought it was good. I hear Becks Black Sapphire is good and I'd be willing to give it a try. Bud Light Platinum is decent for what it is, but it sure as heckfire ain't no light beer. It's a malt liquor.

4. I didn't think the Beck's Sapphire was coming out for another two weeks.

5. Bitterbill

Bitterbill Poobah (1,145) Wyoming Sep 14, 2002

It's been in Casper for a week or 2. I bought a 6 pack....I should have bought 1 in a mixed 6 pack.

6. Nectar

Nectar Savant (310) New Jersey Jan 17, 2013

Ill probably try one of each at some point in a mix a six. Hey, tickers gotta tick.

7. Derranged

Derranged Advocate (525) New York Mar 7, 2010

I saw it in lower NY for the first time last week. Never even heard of it before then.

8. cid71

cid71 Aficionado (135) New Jersey Mar 2, 2009