1. Don't miss our 7th annual American Craft Beer Fest featuring 640+ beers from 140+ brewers this May 30 & 31 in Boston, MA! Buy your tickets now!
  2. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Moving to SLC from San Diego

Discussion in 'US - Mountain' started by Chetlemon, Jan 3, 2013.

1. Chetlemon

Chetlemon Member

I know there is NO way the beer scene will be a fraction of the San Diego brew selection, but someone please tell me there are good bottle shops, brew pubs, home brew festivals to be had in Salt Lake City. Tell me those crazy mormon laws have expired too. Please help a brotha out.
  2. Steve_0

Steve_0 Member

3. mikey451

mikey451 Member

I've been writing about the local beer scene in Utah for the past 7 years, my blog has damn near every answer to every question you may have about beer in SLC. Feel free to BM me. Cheers.

Mike
  4. mikey451

mikey451 Member

http://utahbeer.blogspot.com/
  5. Steve_0

Steve_0 Member

Nice! This is where I found out about EPIC's inked deal to move a new brewery here, to Denver.
  6. skivtjerry

skivtjerry Member

I'm sorry. Hope you're a homebrewer.

Seriously, it's not that bad. I lived in SLC for 9 years; haven't been back for a couple years but things keep getting better. Uinta and Epic, especially, are world class breweries with lots of nice offerings. All the brewpubs have good food, and there is an abundance of great cheap restaurants of all ethnicities. The only real PITA is the 4%ABV restriction on draft beer. No beaches, but if you're a skier you will be very happy.

Salt Lake is now a modern progressive city, and that includes its beer scene. Drive an hour out of the city and things change drastically (not for the better).
  7. pokesbeerdude

pokesbeerdude Member