1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

NC Local Sours and Smokes

Discussion in 'US - South-Atlantic' started by dvmin98, Mar 15, 2013.

1. So I am a true novice when it comes to sours and I am not a big smoke fan. I am trading with someone and I know he likes sours and smoked beers. Are there any local beers of both genres that I could send him? Preferably 12 or 22oz bottles. Please help!

2. Handle

Handle Savant (395) North Carolina Mar 16, 2009

I'm a big fan of smoked beers, but I'm struggling to think of one that is brewed and bottled here in NC.

3. The only notable bottled sour I can think of from NC is the Natty Greene's American Sour, but that disappeared a long time ago.

Common Good from Fullsteam was pretty good, but it was a small batch that never hit bottles.

4. Our Hogwash hickory-smoked brown porter is available in growlers.

Common Good is on tap at a few places still in Charlotte. It's not an aged (Brett) sour; it's a sour mash Kentucky Common that's less, say, challenging than some sours out there.

5. nc41

nc41 Advocate (745) North Carolina Sep 25, 2008

A guy I works with has one available, he bought two, and didn't like it.

6. Handle

Really? I thought that beer was fantastic. The only reason I didn't recommend it is because I don't think he'll be able to easily find a bottle.

CarolinaKevin likes this.
  7. I keep forgetting that growlers hit distro.

8. TNGabe

TNGabe Initiate (0) Tennessee Feb 6, 2012

Green Man has bottled a couple sours, maybe more, but really small batches, maybe a couple dozen cases. I bet there will be more in the future, but NC is seriously lacking in sour beers.

9. Dralzz

Dralzz Disciple (55) North Carolina Oct 17, 2010

Aside from a few one-time pilot batches from NoDa, I can't think of any sour beers in NC.