1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Need homebrew father's advice!

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by nuggetman, Jan 5, 2013.

1. I have been homebrewing for around four years now and have a baby due in less than a month. My girlfriend has a four year who has been in my life for a while now, but I have still been able to get 1 or 2 batches a month at least brewed. No idea what to expect for the amount of brew time I will have once the baby comes; I am just.looking for any other dads out there who have finagled the ability to brew a satisfactory amount. I beer all grain, but think I will have to brew a few partial mash batches in order to be able to be home and inside and "around". I am totally aware that I sound like a total deadbeat, but it is one of the only selfish concerns I have about this huge life change! Any thoughts or prayers?????

2. It can be done. However some changes need to be made. Before I used to brew at whatever time I wanted. Now with a little one it is strictly AM brewing. I wake up around 5-5:30 ish and start the mash for all grain. Enjoy some coffee and quiet time. By the time they wake I'm about to start the boil and it's easy after that.

nuggetman likes this.
  3. koopa

koopa Champion (800) New Jersey Apr 20, 2008

First off, Congratulations!

Not sure what batch sizes you make, but if you can increase your batch size then you can effectively produce the same (or more) amount of beer and brew less often. Might cut into your "variety" a bit but you can always offset that drawback by doing different treatments (dry hopping, flavor extracts, fruits, spices, etc) to each carboy.

nuggetman likes this.
  4. Same here. Get a early start and prep what you can ahead of time. The wife always appreciates a heads up on brew days too. My kid is about 9 weeks old and I already got 4 brew days in. (The 5th is in planning).