1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Nelson/Simcoe DIPA Recipe Critique

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by mattsander, Dec 21, 2012.

1. I'm brewing a DIPA on Saturday and I want to showcase Nelson sauvin and Simcoe hops. This is my first time brewing with nelson, so I'm looking for any advice the brewers here can offer. The grain bill is lifted from Citra DIPA (as given by Kyle from Kern River)

-----
    5.5 gallon batch
    82% Canadian 2-row
    4.6% Carapils
    4.7% Caramel 15L
    4.7% Munich
    2% Wheat malt
    2% Honey malt

Mash at 150F for 60 mins. Hard water.

1.5oz Columbus leaf 15.5% Mash Hop
    1oz Columbus leaf 15.5% @ 90 mins
    1oz Simcoe pellet 12.5% @ 20 mins
    1oz Nelson pellet 11.5% @ 20 mins
    1oz Simcoe pellet 12.5% @ 5 mins
    1oz Nelson pellet 11.5% @ 5 mins
    3oz Simcoe pellet 12.5% @ Flameout, hop stand 20 mins
    3oz Nelson pellet 11.5% @ Flameout, hop stand 20 mins
    1oz Cascade pellet 7% @ Flameout, hop stand 20 mins
    3oz Simcoe pellet 12.5% @ Dryhop, 5 days
    3oz Nelson pellet 11.5% @ Dryhop, 5 days
    2oz Cascade pellet 7% @ Dryhop, 5 days

WLP001, ferment and dryhop at 67F.
    OG 1.080
    FG 1.018
  2. pwrf12

pwrf12 Aficionado (125) Virginia Jan 26, 2008

In my personal experience, Nelson easily dominates other hops when used in equal proportion (or close to it), including Citra and Simcoe. I would be weary of that. However, I love the flavor of Nelson, so a few of my IPAs have been happy mistakes in that regard.
    psnydez86 and GreenKrusty101 like this.
  3. I would be weary and wary : )
  4. xpertskir

xpertskir Zealot (85) Illinois Feb 11, 2010

As PWRF said....I would back down the ratio of nelson to simcoe.