1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Nostalgia Electrics Kegerator (Regulator Question)

Discussion in 'Home Bar' started by DRGinLBC, Jan 17, 2013.

1. I recently got a Nostalgia Electrics Kegerator model KRS2100. The kit came with the CO2 tank and a dual regulator. Seen below:

[​IMG]

I went to my local place to fill up kegs and CO2 tanks. Since I am new to this, I asked the gentleman where my gauges should be once I get everything hooked up. He proceeded to tell me that the gauge on the left will do absolutely nothing with my setup (confused to why there are two then). With the keg I purchased, Dales Pale Ale, he told me the gauge on the right should be between 5 and 10.

When I got home and hooked everything up, I noticed that the gauge on the left did nothing (like he said). I got the gauge on the right set to around 8 and it gave me a nice pour.

Question:

My understanding is that the gauge on the left is to tell you the remaining pressure left in your CO2 tank. If so, why wouldn't that work? I see it ranges from 0-3000PSI. I would imagine, even though my CO2 tank is very small, it would at least show something since the range goes down to zero.

Can anyone help me understand this?

**In addition, after a week and 5 beer poured from my new kegerator...my CO2 tank was empty. I took the tank and regulator into the keg shop and the guy found a leak in the gauge on the right. I called the company and they are sending me a new one. Would this have anything to do with it?**