1. Rating beers by attributes (look, smell, taste, feel, overall) is back! Read the latest update ...
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Plano, Tx help

Discussion in 'US - Southwest' started by RPS, Dec 7, 2012.

1. RPS

RPS Aficionado (100) Iowa Jun 7, 2012

Going to be heading down to Plano, Texas, to see my in-laws for the holidays. Not really looking for any bar or brewpub suggestions as my in-laws aren't very alcohol friendly people so more looking for advice on bottle shops in the Plano area.

I went to Mr. Gs a couple years ago when we visited and I was just getting into craft beer mostly because it was close to their house (and I was a newb). Is this the best option around?

Also looking for suggestions/recommendations for local Texas brews that I can get there.

Thanks

2. Heretic42

Heretic42 Savant (450) Texas Aug 31, 2011

Mr G's beer/wine section is run by Spec's now. They have a decent selection, but you should also check out Kegs & Barrels and S&K Beverage. Both Central Market and Whole Foods also carry a good selection of craft beers if you can't find something you want at the others.

As for local recommendations, Jester King, Rahr, Real Ale, and Saint Arnold come to mind. The Rahr Bourbon Barrel Aged Winter Warmer should be widely available by the time you get here and the last release I had was delicious. The Real Ale Coffee Porter is also excellent.

AHood and cfh64 like this.
  3. BeerHunter76

BeerHunter76 Savant (445) Texas Dec 25, 2010