1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Plate Chiller Users

Discussion in 'Homebrewing' started by Gotti311, Apr 19, 2013.

1. Gotti311

Gotti311 Advocate (595) Wisconsin Mar 22, 2009

So my buddy and I have been brewing together for 18 months or so. We are always looking for ways to optimize, process improve, save time. We have been talking forever about getting a plate chiller. My understanding is that you need a nice March Pump and Plate Chiller to do this. I am expecting costs to be in the $300 range.

What are your thoughts on this?
    -Is it worth the money?
    -I am off on my price
    -What plate chiller do you recommend
    -Options other than March Pumps

2. scurvy311

scurvy311 Savant (415) Louisiana Dec 3, 2005

I normally share this link when there is a chiller discussion. I always did immersion and found it adequate. I have since went to drill with paddle attachment and immersion chiller, and it is super fast and easy. I'm not poo pooing plate or counter flow, only providing desenting opinion. http://www.mrmalty.com/chiller.php

Its much easier to clean an immersion chiller also. You can see the crud and scrub it clean before putting it up. Its impossible to know if EVERYTHING has been cleaned out of a plate chiller. Not to say that it can't. I know that some can be disassembled, but I still don't think that is as easy as rinse, soap, rinse for the immersion chiller.

What are your thoughts on this?
    -Is it worth the money? (Not really, not considering all that it entails compared to a homemade immersion chiller)
    -I am off on my price
    -What plate chiller do you recommend
    -Options other than March Pumps (immersion chillers do not require a pump)

3. We use this plate chiller with no pumps, all gravity.
    http://www.northernbrewer.com/shop/shirron-plate-chiller.html