1. Extreme Beer Fest. March 20 & 21, 2015 in Boston, Mass. Join us!
  2. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  3. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Pliny overhyped? I don't really think so.

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by lookrider, Feb 14, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. lookrider

lookrider Savant (400) Pennsylvania Apr 22, 2007

Quick Pliny story if you'll indulge me. I live in a part of the country where about the only way to get PtE is by trade. Traded for my first last year and just loved it. Kind of forgot how it tasted since then but yesterday a box arrived in a trade and there were 2 Pliny's in it. I got home from work last night and popped them in the fridge. I'm an over the hill bicycle racer and this time of year with cold weather and not enough daylight I ride on a trainer in my garage every night for about 1 hour 45 min. as soon as I get home. So I do my ride (they're brutal and monotonous) and as soon as I'm done I head for the fridge absolutely drenched in sweat and open a Pliny into one of those big Sam Adams glasses. One big sip and glass in the fridge and up to my shower. My days are hectic and I use a very long shower as my first bit of relaxation every day - nothing like it after the cold workout. Last night, I hop in the shower and all I'm thinking about is how good that Pliny is. I soap up and rinse off in 60 seconds, towel off, throw on sweats and rush down to the fridge to pull that glass of Pliny out. While I'm sipping, I keep thinking that I don't know how an IPA could be better and that this is the reason I drink beer. Then I realized I forgot to shave.

2. fredmugs

fredmugs Champion (845) Indiana Aug 11, 2012

I had a Pliny over the holidays where it smelled so good I didn't want to finish drinking it. I've never had an aroma captivate me like that. I think it was 12 days old.

WickedSluggy and tectactoe like this.
  3. BrettHead