1. BeerAdvocate on your phone?! True story. Try the beta now.

Poll: How often do you check BA before buying a new beer?

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by ao125, Dec 20, 2012.

?

How often do you check BA before buying a new beer?

1. Always

93 vote(s)
    23.8%
  2. Sometimes

198 vote(s)
    50.8%
  3. Only if I've never had anything from that brewery before

56 vote(s)
    14.4%
  4. Never (I like spinning the wheel on beer roulette)

43 vote(s)
    11.0%
  1. ao125

ao125 Member

I'm curious, how often do you check BA and/or other beer rating sites before you pick up a new (or new to you) beer?

I'm personally starting to find myself passing up beers I've never tried before, solely because they have low rating scores... and I'm sure I'm not alone.

I often think of it as a small insurance policy on a $5-12 bet, and I very rarely pick up completely undrinkable beers anymore.

That said, I don't know that I'm as experimental as I used to be... at least on my own dime.
  2. BMart

BMart Member

Depends on pricing, if it's under $4 for 12oz or under $10 for 22oz, I'm not as quick to look it up and just give it a try. If it's marked higher and from a brewery I never had before, I usually look it up before purchasing. At that point, anything 80 or higher I'll give a try to make my own conclusion.
  3. TX-Badger

TX-Badger Member

I'll try anything once, and I could care less about what someone else thinks about it. I like to form my own opinion of a beer before reading what others think.
    Ford, BrownAleMale, beertunes and 5 others like this.
  4. jdillon334

jdillon334 Member

Almost always, but I try and pay more attention to the description from a few reviewers than to the rating.
  5. TheMonkfish

TheMonkfish Member

If the beer is from a brewery that I think is solid and it's a style I like then I don't check.