1. One Hundred Mags (Rule). Check out the sneak peek of BeerAdvocate magazine #100, plus some of the changes coming your way.

Question about buying multiples of limited releases.

Discussion in 'Cellaring / Aging Beer' started by krl2112, Nov 22, 2012.

1. krl2112

krl2112 Advocate (620) Illinois Nov 10, 2012

So I am somewhat newer to the passion of collecting and cellaring beer. I have been doing it with wine for many years but about a year with beer. I really mostly enjoy BA Stouts and porters which are more to the limited/rare release such as Goose BCS, Surly Darkness, FFF Dark Lord, etc. When I buy, I usually get 3-4 bottles of a vintage. I keep 2 for myself, 1 to try a year or so from now and then the other to cellar a few more years. The other 2 I usually use to trade other people for brews that I can't get. I just did this yesterday with Founders Bolt Cutter. However I bought 2.5 cases of Goose BCS this year because I really enjoy it. Obviously I need to go to multiple stores to get these because they usually limit you to 1 per person, etc. Since I am newer to the scene and trying to build my collection I also recently purchased 7 Sam Adams Utopias, again to keep 2 and trade the other 5 which was very successful given the limited availability. However, I NEVER buy multiples to then sell them for more to people who were not able to get them. I don't believe that is a fair practice and degrades the sanctity of the passion. Is what I am doing an ok practice and pretty standard? I also try to trade fairly and not "rape" people in order to come to an agreeable transaction. My goal is to have enough of different brews to ultimately share with my friends, etc. Let me know your thoughts.

2. krl2112

Crickets. No thoughts anyone? All comments welcomed.

3. jmgrub

jmgrub Savant (465) California Nov 20, 2010

People are probably too in awe of your purchasing 7 bottles of Utopias to respond.

4. krl2112