1. The wait is over! Download the BeerAdvocate app on iTunes or Google Play now.
  2. Get 12 issues / year of BeerAdvocate magazine for only $9.99!

Question about Russian Imperial Stouts

Discussion in 'Beer Talk' started by igorquad, Apr 5, 2013.

1. Hello everyone,

I am quite new to the world of decent tasting beer and in the last few months I got blown away by many Belgian beers that I tried, especially Quads. Now when I look back at when I thought Leffe was the best beer in the world, it makes me laugh. :)

Anyway, I've noticed that many of the top rated reviews here are from Russian Imperial Stouts so I got curious about them and decided to try one. I purchased from Brewdog an Abstrakt snifter glass (to add to the experience) and a bottle of Cocoa Psycho, which seemed easier to obtain since BD is from Scotland.

The thing is, I found it absolutely vile! I wouldn't mind a roasted taste and smell but on this beer it's a lot stronger than that, it smells and tastes like something burned! It leaves a horrible aftertaste as if you had licked burned wood or something like that. Is this normal? Is this the kind of taste that I should expect from the majority of RISs? Am I simply being a big wuss or is this probably just a bad beer?

Cheers in advance and sorry if this is a silly question.
    19etz55 likes this.
  2. Not everyone likes every beer style. People rave about how wonderful sours are but I have zero interest in them (at least at this point). It happens. Find the styles you dig and drink up. Periodically check back in to the stouts though (maybe every six months???) as your tastes may change.
  3. draheim

draheim Poobah (1,015) Washington Sep 18, 2010

I haven't had that particular beer, but I'd say that if it tasted bad to you, then as far as you're concerned (which is all that matters) it's a bad beer.